• About Hartt
  • Admissions
  • Undergraduate Programs
  • Graduate Programs
  • Faculty
  • Alumni
  • Performing Groups
  • Student Life and Resources
  • SummerTerm
  • Community Division

John Rojak

Senior Artist Teacher

John D. Rojak joined the American Brass Quintet in 1991. He is bass trombonist with the Orchestra of St. Luke’s, IRIS, New York Pops, Little Orchestra Society, Stamford Symphony, and played for the 16-year run of Broadway’s Les Misérables. He has performed and recorded with the New York Philharmonic, Orpheus, New York Chamber Symphony, and as solo trombone of Solisti NY. He has performed with the Cleveland Orchestra, the Los Angeles Philharmonic, the Boston Symphony, for Pope John Paul II in New York's Central Park and St. Patrick's Cathedral, and for Pope Francis in Madison Square Garden. As part of Gunther Schuller’s handpicked orchestra he was involved in the recording of Brahms’ First Symphony and Beethoven’s Fifth for a collaborative CD to Mr. Schuller’s book “The Compleat Conductor.” Mr. Rojak has performed with many ballet companies, including the Bolshoi, Kirov, Royal, Netherlands Dance Theatre, China, and San Francisco. Other Broadway shows  include The Producers, Sugar Babies and Shirley MacLaine on Broadway and he has played with the big bands of Mel Lewis, Gerry Mulligan, and Bob Mintzer. In addition to classical recordings, he can be heard on soundtracks for commercials and film, and played with Metallica, Peter Gabriel, and Styx.

Active as a soloist and clinician, Rojak was the first bass trombonist to be artist in residence at Quad City Arts in Illinois/Iowa and has been featured at the International Trombone Association Workshops in Champaign-Urbana, Boulder, and Salt Lake City, as well as performing Eric Ewazen's Concerto for Bass Trombone with the Daejon, Korea, Philharmonic He has given master classes and recitals throughout the U.S., Japan, Mexico, and Australia, been visiting trombone instructor at the North Carolina School of the Arts, and adjudicator for competitions including Concert Artists Guild, Fischoff, and Coleman.

In the spring of 2000 Rojak made his New York concerto debut, performing Walter Ross’ Trombone Concerto No. 2 in Alice Tully Hall with the New York Chamber Symphony, Gerard Shwarz conducting. The piece was recorded and is featured on Rojak Rocks on Parma Recordings. He has been featured with the trombone section of the Brass Band of Battle Creek, and played the solo trombone part with Vladimir Spivakov and the Moscow Virtuosi in the North American premiere of Schnittke’s Five Fragments Based on Paintings of Hieronymus Bosch  for Violin, Trombone, and Tenor in Avery Fisher Hall. His first solo recording, “The Romantic Bass Trombone” with pianist Robert Koenig, on MMC Records, was critically acclaimed in several trade journals. Other solo recordings are  “Rhapsody for Bass Trombone and Strings” composed by Eric Ewazen with the Czech Philharmonic Chamber Orchestra on the Albany CD, “Bass Hits”, and “The Essential Rochut” on Belle records. He has collaborated on chamber music recordings with Andrew Violette, David Sampson, and Jeffrey Nichols.

His CD, Rojak Rocks, was "critically acclaimed" in a review by Gramophone magazine.

Rojak received a Bachelor of Music degree from Juilliard and held fellowships at the Tanglewood and Waterloo Music Festivals. He is Director of Brass Studies at New York University, and on the faculties of Juilliard, Hartt, Colorado College Summer Music Festival, and the Aspen Music Festival and School. As an artist representative for Michael Rath Trombones, Rojak plays a custom designed R9 bass trombone.

©2016 The Hartt School, University of Hartford, 200 Bloomfield Avenue, West Hartford, CT 06117-1599 | 860.768.4454

Contact The Hartt School | Staff Listing | Give to Hartt | Rent Facilities | About This Site | Web Privacy Policy | Site Index

Follow harttschool on Twitter    

%s1 / %s2